Reinhold 'Gaffa' Quisenberry Holt

August 19, 2015

Parisian Musings

When I worked in NZ at a Bar for a summer I met the people coming back from their tours in Antarctica. Typically I think they went for about 6 months. I always asked ‘what’s it like?’.. as you do. Anyway, I noticed that everyone could some it up with one word. Most said – ‘Cold’.

I thought.. hmm, is that it?

But… I noticed, that as I met more and more people whom have traveled to different places they tended to sum it up with one word, perhaps only on a subconscious level. For example, Singapore – It’s ‘Clean’.

Anyway, I’ve noticed this more and more. What I also noticed, is that when you go to a place you’ve not been for a few years, whether you’ve lived there or not, you can typically notice things immediately that stand out, which then quickly disappear into obscurity a few days later… I tended to find three words for this.

Anyway… So Paris, I think: Contrasted. When coming back to Paris a while back from somewhere… The three words I came up with were: Dark, Dirty, Interesting… with emphasis on ‘Dark’. For Perth I think; Nice Beach, London; Boring, Milan; Creative, Marseilles; Underworld. Anyway… random observations ;()

Keep Travelling,

Jeremy
Paris Chapter, August 2015, Day: 535

Leave a Reply

